As the days warm and more drivers take to the road for road trips, beach vacations, and the like, the risk of being involved in a car accident increases. To be sure, data published by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) shows that summertime is the most dangerous time to drive, with more accidents reported in the months of May-October than at any other time of the year. (In 2017, the month with the most accidents was July; the month with the fewest was February.)

Read more

Although most car accidents are fender benders, millions of people are injured each year in auto accidents with a high percentage taking place during the coldest months. Boston motorists are used to extreme weather conditions so it should come as no surprise that by using their experience and commonsense, they can prevent many car accidents on icy roads. But be aware that though sleet, snow, hail, and icy rain can substantially increase your risk of being in an accident and you are the one being especially cautious, there will always be motorists who are clueless about how to drive on icy roads or who think that the weather is irrelevant to their getting to their destination as quickly as possible.

Read more

Most of us look forward to the winter holiday season with time off from work and school. Office parties, family gatherings, dinner and drinks with friends and colleagues are commonplace. Bars and restaurants may have specials such as extended happy hours or no-cover charges for women on some nights. Many of these events, however, center around drinking, which can increase the risk of drunk driving and car accidents.

Read more

Anyone who rides a motorcycle will undoubtely tell you about the feeling of freedom and exhilaration it brings riding in the open air, to experience the elements and to appreciate the landscape, whether urban or rural. Motorcycles are fast and flexible since they can travel in and out of traffic jams, not to mention that parking is rarely a problem. But riding comes at a considerable risk for sustaining serious if not fatal injuries.

Read more

Motorists in all states, other than New Hampshire and the District of Columbia, are required to possess auto liability coverage. In Massachusetts, state law mandates that you have minimal coverage of $20,000/$40,000. This means that in any accident injury claim the injured party can recover no more than $20,000 from your auto policy. If there are multiple claimants, then $40,000 is to be apportioned among the claimants with no one person being able to recover more than $20,000.

Read more

Woman sitting in the carMost commonly found in cases involving car accidents, negligent entrustment is a legal principle in which the entrustor is held liable for harm caused by the entrustee to a third party (plaintiff). If you are a victim of a car or other personal injury accident type in Boston, negligent entrustment may be applicable in your case. The follow provides an overview of what you need to know:

Read more

According to a report from Boston.com, Gayle Johnson was struck and killed by an MBTA bus as she was trying to get home from her job in Wellington Circle in the mailroom of a bank. The fifty-two year old as identified as the person who was struck by the bus and then drug down the street. The accident occurred in the 400 block of Broadway near a fire station in Revere. Read more

Among teenage drivers, car accidents is a leading cause of death in the United States. In 2007, the state of Massachusetts added new requirements to the law which, were meant to lower the number of teenage driving accidents and accidental deaths. This law greatly increased the number of hours that teenage drivers were required to spend in supervised driving before they could obtain a drivers’ license. Now teens are actually required to drive under the supervision of a parent for at least forty hours, and with an instructor for at least twelve hours before taking the test to get their license. Parents of kids who are under the age of eighteen and wish to obtain a drivers’ license must also attend a two hour seminar before their child can be issued a license in the state of Massachusetts. Read more