OUI/DWI Attorneys

Across the country, lawmakers are cracking down on OUI (operating under the influence) and DWI (driving while intoxicated) offenses and reforming the penalties that accompany these charges.  Massachusetts is one of the strictest states in the country when it comes to drunk driving related offenses and has implemented some of the harshest consequences for those convicted of DWI/OUI.

As penalties for drunk driving become stricter, it is imperative to know the consequences you may face if you have been arrested for DWI/OUI in Massachusetts.  These penalties may include fines, fees, jail time, probation supervision, alcohol education classes, community service, or a lengthy license suspension.  If you have been arrested for any DWI/OUI related offense, the consequences you face may impact your life for years to come.  It is crucial that you retain an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer who can help protect your rights as well as your driver’s license.  The criminal defense attorneys at Lovenberg & Associates, P.C. have spent year’s successfully defending OUI/DWI cases in Massachusetts, including the greater Boston area, and are passionate about each and every client.

Massachusetts OUI Penalties – Know the Consequences:

1)     First Offense:

  • Fine of $500.00 to $5,000.00;
  • Incarceration of up to 2 ½ years;
  • $250.00 Head Injury Trust Fund fee;
  • $50.00 fee for Victims of Drunk Driving Trust Fund;
  • Suspension of license for 1 year.  Hardship License considered after 3 months.

First Offense – Alternative 24D Disposition (only applies to first time offenders)

  • Probation for up to 2 years;
  • Enrollment in driver alcohol education program and/or alcohol or controlled substance abuse program;
  • $250.00 driver alcohol education program fee;
  • $250.00 Head Injury Trust Fund fee;
  • $50.00 fee for Victims of Drunk Driving Trust Fund;
  • 30 or more hours of community service (as determined by the court as a condition of probation);
  • Suspension of license for 45-90 days.  If under 21 years of age, license suspended for 210 days.  Eligible for Hardship License upon enrollment in driver alcohol education program.

2)      Second Offense:

  • Fine of $600.00 to $10,000.00;
  • Incarceration of not less than 60 days, 30 days mandatory, up to 2 ½ years;
  • $250.00 Head Injury Trust Fund fee;
  • Suspension of license for 2 years.  Hardship License considered after 1 year.

3)      Third Offense:

  • Fine of $1,000.00 to $15,000.00;
  • Incarceration of 180 days, 150 days mandatory, up to 5 years;
  • $250.00 Head Injury Trust Fund fee;
  • Suspension of license for 8 years.  Hardship License considered after 2 years.

4)      Fourth Offense:

  • Fine of $1,500.00 to $25,000.00;
  • Incarceration of 2 years, 1 year mandatory, up to 5 years;
  • $250.00 Head Injury Trust Fund fee;
  • Suspension of license for 10 years.  Hardship License considered after 5 years.

5)      Fifth Offense:

  • Fine of $2,000.00 to $50,000.00;
  • Incarceration of 2 ½ years, 2 years mandatory, up to 5 years;
  • $250.00 Head Injury Trust Fund fee;
  • Lifetime loss of license, no hardship license eligibility.

OUI Lawyer

If you have been arrested for OUI/DWI in Massachusetts, do not hesitate to contact the criminal defense attorneys at Lovenberg & Associates, P.C. today for a free consultation in our Boston law firm.

 

The contents of this website do not constitute legal advice, and do not establish an attorney-client relationship. Representative case results are provided as examples only, and do not guarantee or imply the same or similar results for other cases, which are evaluated on their individual merits.

Comments are closed.