How is Child Support Calculated?

Child Support

Child support can be tricky. Unlike other aspects of a divorce, many of which are finalized and remain the same forever after the original decision, child support can be revisited and revised years after the original decisions in the court.

 

Child support laws differ from state to state, and the method by which it is calculated and determined can vary rather significantly depending on where the child and non-custodial parent live. The general factors by which the calculations are made, though, remain fairly similar. First, the needs of the child are always considered above all else. The non-custodial parent, though, is considered too – primarily through his or her means to pay. Furthermore, the standard of living that, should the parents of the child been married, the child would have enjoyed is also considered. Finally, states also consider other children the non-custodial parent might have and makes for provisions for them too.

 

Massachusetts Child Support Lawyer

 

Specifically in Massachusetts, the breakdown is based on the non-custodial parent’s gross weekly income. There are four levels of weekly gross income that are considered starting with $0 to $100 a week and culminating in the $751 and up per week bracket. Depending on which bracket the non-custodial parent falls under, the more he or she will pay in child support. As mentioned before, the amount required to give in child support is also specific to the number of children the non-custodial parent has, and there are levels for this as well.

 

In Massachusetts, though not in every state, the amount paid in child support is also based on the age of the child. When the child is between the ages of 0 and 12, the standard child support order remains the same. If the child is between the ages of 13 and 18, the non-custodial parent may be expected to pay an increase of 10% of the support order added to the standard amount. If the child is over the age of 18, the court has discretion over how much, if any, the non-custodial parent needs to pay.

 

 

There are a few other factors that can also be considered when calculating the amount of the child support order. The earning ability of the non-custodial parent is often considered as well as the non-custodial parents living expenses including rent, food, and so forth. In general, the rules regarding how child support is calculated can be very confusing, and they likely differ depending on what state you and your child reside in. To get a full case evaluation call the divorce attorneys and Lovenberg Law today! about the rules in your state to help you determine how your child support order will be calculated.

This entry was posted in Boston Divorce Lawyer. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.